
  

 Charleston County Budget Highlights 

Overview:

The General Fund operating budget is $194.0 million, which is up $6.9 million or 3.7 percent. The FY 2014

Charleston County budget is balanced. The operating millage is 40.7 mills and reflects an increase of 0.8 mills

from Fiscal Year 2013.  

Debt Service millage remains unchanged at  6.1 mills.

The Local Option Sales Tax (LOST) credit reflects a change to $215.00 for the homeowner whose property is

appraised at $250,000.  The LOST credit reduces the amount of taxes owed by a homeowner. 

The Solid Waste, Recycling & Disposal Fee remains unchanged at $99 per residential property. 

The graph reflects the tax due on a 

$250,000 Owner-Occupied home 

after the Sales Tax credit for FY 2010 

through FY 2014.
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*Note: Does not include the following entities: Trident Technical College, Charleston Co. Park & Recreation Commission, 
Charleston County School District, or various special purpose districts or municipalities. 

 

Budget Highlights 
Charleston County 

 
The Assessor performs the valuation process following the appropriate State laws, regulations, and 
professional guidelines. 
 

EXEMPTIONS 
 
Exemptions are provided by South Carolina law to qualified real property owners to reduce the value of 
property subject to taxation.  Some of the more frequently used exemptions are: 
 
Homestead - The first $50,000 of the value of an owner-occupied residence is exempt for all legal residents 
of South Carolina that have resided in the State for at least one year on or before December 31 of the year 
prior to exemption and are one of the following: 
 
• 65 on or before December 31, preceding the tax year in which you wish to claim exemption 
• certified totally and permanently disabled by State or Federal agency 
• legally blind 
• at any age when your spouse who was eligible for exemption dies 
 
Legal Residence - For all permanent residents of South Carolina, a four percent assessment ratio on an 
owner-occupied legal residence applies. 
 
Widows/Widowers - Residences for all spouses of law enforcement officers or servicemen killed in action 
or 100 percent totally and permanently disabled service connected veterans are exempt. 
 
Disability - Residences for all totally and permanently disabled or blind service connected veterans are 
exempt. 
 
Institutional - All properties of non-profit organizations used for literary, scientific, educational, and 
charitable purposes are exempt. 
 

COMPUTING REAL PROPERTY TAXES 
 
The following information is needed to compute property tax on a parcel: 
• the appraised value as determined by the property appraiser 
• the amount of the value which is not subject to the tax due to the application of exemptions 
• the millage rate authorized by a taxing authority 

WITH HOMESTEAD                                      WITHOUT HOMESTEAD    

$250,000 Appraised Property Value $250,000 
   -  50,000 Less Homestead Exemption  

200,000 Adjusted Appraised Property Value  
              .04   Multiplied by the Legal Residence Assessment Ratio           .04   

8,000 Total Assessment 10,000 
 

        0.0468   
Multiplied by the combined millage, for example, using the FY 2014 adopted 

County millage rate * 
 

    0.0468   
 374.40   Total Property Tax Due for Charleston County Before Sales Tax Credit 468.00   

      - 215.00  Less: County Sales Tax Credit x Appraised Value (.00086 x 250,000)    -215.00  

     159.40   Tax Due After Sales Tax Credit 253.00   
        99.00   Plus: Environmental Management Recycling and Disposal Fee       99.00   

  $    258.40   Total Amount Due $  352.00   
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